Voice of the Valley

I am Srinagar
A misspelled word
Not once, time n again
Used abused and misused
Like never before.
They came, they saw and they conquered me
On their own wishes
And own style.
Not even once
I could say what I wanted to.
My voice was curtailed
With bullets or landmines and now the palet guns,
I don’t know who is a militant or army or who has what, AK 47 or 56
I took them all
In my chest.
Every bullet fired since decades
I have only seen blood, hatred.
I am little tired now
Not for the bullets but for the battles, I am fighting within me.

 

img_8517

Early morning fishing at Dal lake.

 

I am just stand-still
Amidst the simplicity
The beauty of nature
The curvy roads and wooden glass houses
The Jhelum and Dal,
I am Srinagar, I am alive.
Ask me, what I want
Ask me, the solution of your problems.
Ask me, what you do not know.
Ask me, before you take a stand about me.
I am a silent monk
Preaching peace, but nobody cares
I am Srinagar and i m struggling
Between life and death
Between love n hatred
Between stones n bullets
Between misfortune and mistakes
Yes, I am alive, like you all.

img_8528

I am not a symbol of Indo-Pak tension.
I am the valley of affection.
The nature at its perfection,
I am just like your favorite music
You listen to it once
Again, once again, then again
I am the messenger of peace
With much love to spread across the hearts,
I am the silent strings of a broken guitar
Been failing to be tuned in.
My wishes are in shambles.
I m scared of losing myself
In the crowd of political jargons
Amidst the laws that hold me tight
Even tighter.
I am unable to breathe.
Losing my confidence
To fight back to all adversities
And judgemental eyes
Quite unsure about the future
Rather I must say next day,
I am Srinagar, alive
Just alive without the Life
I am Srinagar, alive
Just alive, with a mere hope
Peace prevails everywhere.
Peace prevails everywhere.

img_8461

Happily…

cropped-16d622812e8397872247ecca9cf51dd5.png

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

